Home / About CASSS / Leadership

Board of Directors

CASSS is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. The Board is responsible for setting organizational policy, planning and allocating resources effectively, providing fiscal oversight and accountability, and ensuring legal and ethical integrity throughout the organization.

Our current board members are listed below:



Jamie Moore
SVP, Global Head of Technical Development
Gilead Sciences

Vice President and Secretary

Mark Schenerman
CMC Biotech-MAS Consulting


Joseph Kutza

Senior Director, Regulatory CMC Policy 
Eli Lilly and Company 

Board Members

Andrew Chang
Vice President of Quality and Regulatory Compliance, Quality Intelligence and Inspection
Novo Nordisk, Inc.

Christof Finkler
Senior Portfolio and Technical Advisor for Biotech Development
F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd.

Nomalie Jaya
Senior Director, Product Quality
Pfizer, Inc.

Carmilia Jiménez Ramírez
Head of Quality Control Analytical Technologies
BioMarin Pharmaceutical Inc.
Sarah Kennett
Executive Portfolio Director, Pharma Technical Regulatory
Genentech, a Member of the Roche Group
Hansjörg Toll
RA CMC, Head Immunology Biosimilars
Andy Weiskopf
Vice President, CMC Regulatory Affairs
Sana Biotechnology
Heidi Zhang
EVP, Head of Tech Operations
Tune Therapeutics

Associate Directors

The Board is elected by the Associate Directors (ADs), a large and diverse group of volunteers who represent the various communities that comprise the organization. The ADs advise the board on issues of importance to the membership-at-large.

One of the priorities of the Board has been to broaden member participation at all levels. If you have volunteered on any CASSS organizing committee, you are invited to become an Associate Director and further help direct the future of CASSS. Together, our volunteers advance the CASSS community in the direction of dignity, respect, scientific truth, and the betterment of humanity.

According to CASSS’ bylaws, the Associate Director’s responsibilities include: 

  • Advise the Board of Directors on policy and strategic direction for the organization. 
  • Elect the Board of Directors.
  • Nominate and select the CASSS Award recipient.
  • Have a direct impact on CASSS’ future.

What are the requirements to become an Associate Director?

  • A passion for the mission and vision of CASSS.
  • Attending at least one CASSS Symposium or Forum every three years.
  • Actively participate in the affairs of CASSS by participating in approximately two Associate Director’s meetings annually (in-person when possible, otherwise via teleconference).
  • Participate in the election of the Board of Directors.

Hear from Associate Directors about their CASSS experience:

Jenny Chen, Apellis Pharmaceuticals, Inc.


Ken Miller, BioMarin Pharmaceutical Inc.


Brian Nunnally, CSL Seqirus