This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
William S. Hancock Award 2014
Share |

2014 Hancock Award Winner Kathryn C. Zoon


CASSS Board member John Dougherty presented the award to Dr. Kathryn C. Zoon
at the 18th Annual WCBP Symposium in Washington, DC, January 2014


The CASSS Board of Directors presented the 3rd William Hancock Award for Outstanding Achievements in CMC Regulatory Science to Kathryn Zoon.  This annual award recognizes outstanding and sustained contributions in the field of regulatory science.

A nominee must have made significant contributions to the advancements of scientific principles, applied technologies and/or science based regulations in the areas of manufacturing, process/technology development, characterization, analysis and/or quality of biotechnology derived pharmaceuticals.  The awardee's achievements must have been instrumental in enabling the availability of high quality medicines derived from recombinant technology on a global basis.

Dr. Zoon has been the director of the Division on Intramural Research and the Scientific Director, National Institute of Allergy and Infections Diseases (NIAID), National Health Institute (NIH), since January 2006. Prior to this, she was the deputy director for planning and development of the Division of Intramural Research at NIAID since June 2004.  Previously, she also was the principal deputy director of the Center for Cancer Research at the National Cancer Institute, 2003–2004.  She served as the director of the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER), Food and Drug Administration (FDA).  Dr. Zoon was the director of the Division of Cytokine Biology in CBER, 1988–1992, where she directed the research and review of cytokines, growth factors, and cellular products. Her major area of research is the structure and function of human interferons.  She received her B.S. degree, cum laude, in chemistry from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and was granted a Ph.D. in biochemistry from the Johns Hopkins University. 

Dr. Zoon is an associate editor of the Journal of Interferon Research and the author of more than 100 scientific papers.  She was president of the International Society for Interferon and Cytokine Research, 2000–2001.  She previously served on the Board of Directors of the Foundation for Advanced Education in the Sciences and was the first vice president.  Currently, she is a NIH liaison to the Board of the International Association of Biologicals and on the WHO Expert Committee on Biological Standardization. 

Dr. Zoon has received numerous awards, including BioPharm Person of the Year Award, 1992; Genetic Engineering News Award, 1994, for streamlining and improving the regulatory process for biologics and biotechnology products; and National Cancer Patients’ “Grateful Patients Award,” 1996.  She was elected to the Institute of Medicine in 2002.  


more Calendar

9/14/2020 » 9/17/2020
Mass Spec 2020

9/28/2020 » 10/1/2020
CE Pharm 2020

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal