Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
News & Press: Awards & Recognition

Sarah Kennett Named 2016 CASSS CE Pharm Award Winner

Monday, October 24, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Jeanne Marie Tokunaga
Share |

Sarah Kennett, center, receives the 2016 CASSS CE Pharm Award from previous
winners SungAe Suhr Park, left, and Cari Sänger-van de Griend.


CASSS has announced Sarah Kennett as the 2016 winner of its CE Pharm Award.

The CE Pharm Award recognizes an individual for sustained and significant contribution to the practical application of capillary electrophoresis (CE) to the analysis of biotechnology and pharmaceutical products. It is awarded at the CASSS CE Pharm meeting.

Kennett noted during the presentation that she was honored to be recognized for contributions different from that of technical experts. During her many years in association with CASSS she has encouraged people to use the right technology for their specific purpose and to focus on the analytics.

CE Pharm provides an interactive forum for the discussion of CE in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries, including regulatory considerations. The forum also provides a venue for industrial CE practitioners to meet, network, and exchange knowledge for mutual education. This year’s meeting was held Sept. 25-28 in San Diego, California.

The 2016 honoree is a review chief in the Division of Biotechnology Review and Research, Office of Biotechnology Products, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Kennett was honored for her valuable influence on the promotion and use of CE, including:

  • Being an active member and stabilizing factor of the CE Pharm Organizing Committee and a well-appreciated speaker at the meeting;
  • Having knowledge and experience in the implementation of CE in industry;
  • Acting as a bridge between many people and groups and always keeping patient safety in focus;
  • Enabling acceptance of CE in the pharmaceutical industry; and
  • Serving as a mentor to both novice and veteran CE users.

Kennett joins the following list of CE Pharm Award winners:

  • 2015 – Cari Sänger-van de Griend, PhD – Uppsala University, Sweden; Kantisto BV, The Netherlands
  • 2014 – Michel Girard – Health Canada
  • 2013 – András Guttman – Northeastern University
  • 2012 – Franka Kálmán – University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland
  • 2011 – Oscar Salas-Solano – Seattle Genetics, Inc.
  • 2010 – SungAe Suhr Park – Amgen, Inc.
  • 2009 – Stacey Ma – Genentech, Inc.
  • 2008 – Anthony Chen and Wassim Nashabeh – Genentech, Inc.
  • 2007 – Kevin Altria – GlaxoSmithKline
  • 2006 – Norberto Guzman – Johnson & Johnson

For more information on the CE Pharm Award, as well as other CASSS awards, click here. For more information on the CE Pharm meeting, look under the Meetings menu item.

more Calendar

7/10/2018 » 7/12/2018
Cell & Gene Therapy Products 2018

7/16/2018 » 7/17/2018
CMC Strategy Forum Summer 2018

9/9/2018 » 9/12/2018
CE Pharm and Mass Spec 2018

Featured Members
Linda O. Narhi, Amgen Inc.Visit the CASSS News page to get to know Linda Narhi!

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal