This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
News & Press: Awards & Recognition

Hermann Wätzig Named 2019 CASSS CE Pharm Award Winner

Tuesday, October 1, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Renee Olson
Share |

Hermann Wätzig, center, receives the 2019 CE Pharm Award
Present in photo from left to right:
Joel Welch, Nathan Lacher


The CE Pharm Award recognizes an individual for sustained and significant contribution to the practical application of capillary electrophoresis (CE) to the analysis of biotechnology and pharmaceutical products. It is awarded annually at the CASSS CE Pharm meeting.

Hermann Wätzig was selected by the CE Pharm Organizing Committee for his many accomplishments, deep knowledge in CE and interest in solving practical issues with industry partners.  His work in CE has helped with everyday practical applications in the biotech industry. He is currently a professor at Technical University Braunschweig.

CE Pharm provides an interactive forum for the discussion of CE in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries, including regulatory considerations. The forum also provides a venue for industrial CE practitioners to meet, network, and exchange knowledge for mutual education. This year’s meeting was held September 29 – October 2, 2019 in Bethesda, Maryland.

Wätzig has been an active participant of the conference for many years, sharing his expertise via oral presentations, posters presentations and also participating on the organizing committee from 2015-2017.  The CE Pharm organizing committee stresses the interdependence of pharmaceutical companies, regulatory agencies, academia and manufacturers. Wätzig’s recognition demonstrates this philosophy.

Wätzig  joins the following list of CE Pharm Award winners:   

      • 2018 – Jiaqi Wu, ProteinSimple, a Bio-Techne brand
2017 – Meg Ruesch, Pfizer, Inc.
2016 – Sarah Kennett, CDER, FDA
 2015 – Cari Sänger-van de Griend, Kantisto BV
2014 – Michel Girard, Health Canada
2013 – András Guttman, Northeastern University
2012 – Franka Kálmán, University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland
2011 – Oscar Salas-Solano, Seattle Genetics, Inc. 
2010 – SungAe Suhr Park, Amgen, Inc.
2009 – Stacey Ma, Genentech, Inc.
2008 – Anthony Chen and Wassim Nashabeh, Genentech, Inc.
2007 – Kevin Altria, GlaxoSmithKline
2006 – Norberto Guzman, Johnson & Johnson

For more information on the CE Pharm Award, as well as other CASSS awards, click here. For more information on the CE Pharm meeting, look under the Meetings menu item.

more Calendar

9/28/2020 » 10/1/2020
CE Pharm 2020

10/13/2020 » 10/15/2020
CMC Strategy Forum North America Fall 2020

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal