This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
News & Press: General News

Member Spotlight - John Schiel, CASSS Associate Director and HOS Organizing Committee Member

Wednesday, April 4, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Amy Cano
Share |

This Q&A is part of an ongoing CASSS series where we invite members to meet other members of the CASSS Community. 

This time, we turn our Member Spotlight on John Schiel, a CASSS Associate Director and member of the HOS Organizing Committee. He is currently a Research Chemist at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in Rockville, MD. 

 

Q. How long have you been with your current organization and/or position?

A. 10 years

Q. What was your motivation to volunteer with CASSS?

A. My first biotech meeting was WCBP. The technical expertise integrated within the regulatory framework was unlike any meeting I'd ever been to. I have since attended CASSS' WCBP, HOS, Mass Spec, CE Pharm, and numerous local workshops. The presentations and networking opportunities at CASSS meetings have served as my biopharmaceutical industry "training ground." I'm thankful to now have the opportunity to "give back" through presentations, serving as a conference organizer, and working with the biophysics working group. 

Q. Where did you grow up?

A. Sidney, Nebraska


Q. What do you do to relax? Do you have any hobbies?

A. Anything outdoors...Hiking, surfing (or falling of a surfboard mostly), skiing, etc. I especially enjoy traveling to other countries and enjoying all that the unique cultures have to offer. 

Q. What's your favorite type of food? 

A. I'll eat just about anything twice. Sichuan food and paella are some of my absolute favorites, but as a Nebraskan I'm certainly not foreign to steak and corn. 

Q. Do you speak any languages besides English?

A. Currently brushing up my Spanish skills

Q. Do you have any children? Pets? 

A. I have two dogs: Violet (grey coonhound/lab mix) and Konnor (English Foxhound).

Q. What's your favorite type of music? 

A. It varies with the quality of that day's mass spec data... Anywhere from Folk to Rock/Punk. 

Q. What was the last movie you saw in theater or book you read and loved? 

A. "State-of-the-art and Emerging Technologies for Therapeutic Monoclonal Antibody Characterization" of course...

Q. What famous person do you admire and why?

A. I admire nearly all musicians, famous or not. I think playing an instrument is an amazing talent. 

Q. What would people be surprised to know about you? 

A. My first car was a motorcycle. I ride to work every day the weather allows. 


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal