Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
CASSS Award History
Share |

CASSS, which began in 1983 as the Bay Area Chromatography Colloquium honors its history with this award. Annually, it recognizes a scientist’s outstanding contributions to the fields of separation science and technology with particular consideration given to those who have developed new methods and techniques. This award includes a plaque, a small monetary award, and reimbursement of travel expenses to the symposium at which the award is presented. This award has a long tradition with the first being presented in 1995. 


Once a year (typically in early Spring), Directors, Associate Directors, and all previous CASSS award winners are asked by the chair of the CASSS Academic committee to nominate a living person that meets the award citation requirements. Members of the CASSS Board of Directors are not eligible for nomination.

Selection of the winner:
Each Director, Associate Director, and all previous winners vote for every nominee in ranked order, starting with x (x = the total number of nominees) for their first choice. This means that each ballot must have a different number from x down to 1 associated with each candidate. The top candidate in each ballot receives 3 “bonus” points and the second candidate 1 “bonus” point in the final counting. The votes of those who do not assign all numbers as required are not accepted. The nominee with the highest number of points is the award winner.  The winner is then asked by the chair of the academic committee to accept the award and is invited to come to the Bay Area. The award winner collects the award and gives a lecture at the Annual CASSS Award Dinner held in the Fall.


Past Award Recipients

2015 - Peter J. Schoenmakers  

2014 - Nobou Tanaka

2013 - Wolfgang Lindner

2012 - J. Michael Ramsey

2011 - Stellan Hjertén

2010 - Klaus Unger

2009 - Jack Kirkland

2008 - Pat Sandra

2007 - Shigeru Terabe

2006 - Pier Giorgio Righetti and Walter Jennings

2005 - Milton Lee

2004 - Milos Novotny

2003 - Barry Karger

2002 - Georges Guiochon

2001 - Fred Regnier

2000 - Dick Zare

1999 - Jim Jorgenson

1998 - Csaba Horvath

1997 - Ray Dandeneau

1996 - Ron Majors

1995 - Lloyd Snyder




more Calendar

7/10/2018 » 7/12/2018
Cell & Gene Therapy Products 2018

7/16/2018 » 7/17/2018
CMC Strategy Forum Summer 2018

9/9/2018 » 9/12/2018
CE Pharm and Mass Spec 2018

Featured Members
Linda O. Narhi, Amgen Inc.Visit the CASSS News page to get to know Linda Narhi!

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal