Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
CASSS 2012 Award Winner Ramsey
Share |

CASSS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Separation Science

This annual award recognizes outstanding contributions to the fields of separation science and technology.  The award consists of $500, a plaque, and reimbursement of travel expenses to the Annual CASSS Award Dinner in the San Francisco Bay Area where the award is presented. A nominee must have made an outstanding contribution to the fields of separation science and technology with particular consideration given to developments of new methods and techniques.


Dr. J. Michael Ramsey has been named the 2012 CASSS Award recipient by the Board of Directors.  The award was presented at a dinner in his honor on Thursday, November 15, 2012 at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Berkeley Marina in Berkeley, California.  Dr. Ramsey holds the Minnie N. Goldby Distinguished Professor of Chemistry Chair at the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill.  In addition to his appointment in the Department of Chemistry, he is also a member of the faculty in the Department of Biomedical Engineering and the Carolina Center for Genome Sciences in the UNC-CH School of Medicine and a member of the Institute of Advanced Materials, Nanoscience, and Technology and the Institute for Nanomedicine. Dr. Ramsey is the sole scientific founder of Caliper Technologies (NASDAQ:CALP), later renamed Caliper Life Sciences and acquired by PerkinElmer in 2011. 

Click here for more on Dr. Ramsey's distinguished career. 

 Additional Award Details

Once a year (typically in early Spring), Directors, Associate Directors, and all previous CASSS award winners are asked by the chair of the CASSS Academic committee to nominate a living person that meets the award citation requirements. Members of the CASSS Board of Directors are not eligible for nomination.

Selection of the winner:
Each Director, Associate Director, and all previous winners vote for every nominee in ranked order, starting with x (x = the total number of nominees) for their first choice. This means that each ballot must have a different number from x down to 1 associated with each candidate. The top candidate in each ballot receives 3 “bonus” points and the second candidate 1 “bonus” point in the final counting. The votes of those who do not assign all numbers as required are not accepted. The nominee with the highest number of points is the award winner.  The winner is then asked by the chair of the academic committee to accept the award and is invited to come to the Bay Area. The award winner collects the award and gives a lecture at the Annual CASSS Award Dinner held in the Fall.



Past Recipients

  • 2011 Stellan Hjertén
  • 2010 Klaus Unger 
  • 2009 Jack Kirkland 
  • 2008 Pat Sandra 
  • 2007 Shigeru Terabe
  • 2006 Pier Giorgio Righetti and Walter Jennings
  • 2005 Milton Lee
  • 2004 Milos Novotny
  • 2003 Barry Karger
  • 2002 Georges Guiochon
  • 2001 Fred Regnier
  • 2000 Dick Zare
  • 1999 Jim Jorgenson
  • 1998 Csaba Horvath
  • 1997 Ray Dandeneau
  • 1996 Ron Majors
  • 1995 Lloyd Snyder 



more Calendar

7/10/2018 » 7/12/2018
Cell & Gene Therapy Products 2018

7/16/2018 » 7/17/2018
CMC Strategy Forum Summer 2018

9/9/2018 » 9/12/2018
CE Pharm and Mass Spec 2018

Featured Members
Linda O. Narhi, Amgen Inc.Visit the CASSS News page to get to know Linda Narhi!

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal